Truthiness

So a tweet yesterday by @diami03 about non-career-advancing moves got me thinking. Now that many of you know my real identity, and that Johnny is 90% fictional, is it detrimental to me to continue pretending to be him? It’s no secret – I just did a talk on him. Even the FBI knows I pretended to be Johnny.

But if I continue with the off color tweets, the drug references, the jokes about mental health, the bravado – how will that reflect on the real me? It may not be obvious that Johnny is fake unless you’ve followed him; I think we’ve proven that many people will take him at face value – or close to it.

Hypothetically, if Johnny’s alter ego (the “real me”) were going to start looking for a new job, something doing cutting edge tech with a fair amount of responsibility, potentially anywhere in the U.S. or the world, how much of a liability is Johnny? Would he prevent me from getting a clearance (if he does, that’s lame, and I figure it’s the govt’s loss.) Lose me an offer? Or worst, decrease the salary I can justify? 🙂

So, your opinion: If you interviewed the real me and found I had outstanding technical, business and communication skills, which I like to think I do, but then found Johnny stuff online, would you hire me? Or am I gonna have to go work for Ligatt if I get bored of my real job?

2 Responses to “Truthiness”

  1. Gregory Evans Says:

    We would be happy to have you working with us at LIGATT, Johnny.

  2. j4vv4d Says:

    It’s something I’ve contemplated argued and struggled with at times myself… I think many of us create a slight alter-ego when online, just some of us take it a bit further than others.

    I was working in a full-time job when I created my “infosec cynic” persona and for a while it was ok, until some manager caught onto it and I ended up given an informal dress down about how having an online opinion could bring the company down *shock horror*

    Even now people read stuff and they get offended or they are disapproving of being opinionated. And it has cost me a couple of jobs where HR bods have deemed it too risky to employ someone who has an online persona that in many ways is more influential than the real person.

    Ultimately – in my opinion – from one alter-ego to another. Don’t kill Johnny. If a potential employer doesn’t give you the job – that’s their short-sightedness and loss. The issue isn’t about online fictional characters, it’s about companies infringing on ones personal lives more and more. Don’t social media this, don’t do that – how is that any different to companies discriminating people on the basis of sex, religion or race? Maybe I’m dumbing it down – but in my simplistic view it’s not any different. My fetish is going online as another character and spouting opinions for entertainment value and possibly a bit of intellectual stimulation… don’t hate me for it.

Leave a Reply

