New Show

So I have an idea for a new web show about infosec but it might require me to reveal my identity. I think a lot of y’all might really like it, although I don’t want to spoil the surprise yet. However, it would require the cooperation of “suits” – or at least real people who work for real companies. It would not be possible to entirely anonymize them. So I think it’s unlikely they’ll be willing to work with “Johnny Cocaine”, especially if they take all my tweets as literally true. I mean security vendors, Valley startups, tech and entertainments companies – they’re less risk averse than, say, Chase, but I’m not sure they want to share screen time with me. The word cocaine elicits some strong responses.

On the other hand, I think the videos would be more entertaining with a colorful personality using a controversial moniker. Who wants to watch a video about “Arnold McFadden”? (Sure it’s my real name. Go on, Google it.) It would be like going to see a concert by Brian Warner instead of Marilyn Manson.

So: I could attempt to do it as Johnny, hope enough people / organizations will cooperate, and try to stay anonymous as always. Or I could do it under another pseudonym, which people would quickly realize was Johnny from seeing the vids, but which would at least not be blatantly associated with Johnny.

Or I could do it under my real name and hope that infamy helps my career a la Kevin Mitnick. I’m reasonably sure I haven’t left any damning evidence laying around. Unfortunately a lot of people in the infosec industry don’t have much of a sense of humor. Present company excluded, of course. Of course, if I did that Johnny would probably disappear in to the hazy mist of hacker lore.

What to do, what to do….?

Leave a Reply

